Top

Deep Dive Session on Heat-Related Health Risks

10 July 2024

Wits RHI, as the secretariat for the CHANCE Network, is excited to announce our upcoming webinar aimed at building capacity among researchers and policymakers.

Webinar Details:

Date: Wednesday, 10th July 2024
Time: 4pm SAST / 5pm EAT / 2pm GMT
Title: Impact Beyond the Impact Factor – Moving Beyond Publications to Making Viable Interventions for Heat-Related Health Risks for Outdoor Workers – The PREP Approach
Speaker: Jason Glaser, CEO La Isla Network

Description:
The academic drive for “publish or perish,” especially in high-impact journals, can often overshadow the need for practical and effective interventions, particularly in addressing serious health risks such as extreme heat exacerbated by climate change. In this session, Jason Glaser from La Isla Network will discuss how the PREP (Prevention Resilience Efficiency and Protection) approach shifts the focus from merely publishing research to implementing viable interventions that enhance worker safety and influence both public and private sector policies and practices.

Join us to learn about this innovative approach and how it can be applied to other research and policy contexts.

Registration:
Please register by clicking here to attend the webinar.

We look forward to your participation!

For more information about the CHANCE Network, please refer to the attached brief description.

 

Stay up to date

Get updates on news, resources, events and happenings from Wits RHI.